New Hampshire Car Insurance Laws
FREE Car Insurance Comparison
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
The laws of 47 states and the District of Columbia require that motor vehicle drivers have car insurance. Each of the states has their individual requirements, but most are designed to ensure that all drivers are covered either through liability and underinsured and uninsured motorist policies.
However, three states do not require mandatory car insurance, Mississippi, Virginia, and New Hampshire.
New Hampshire No Car Insurance is Required
Although there are no New Hampshire auto insurance requirements, most drivers in the state have purchased insurance for their vehicles. In fact, statistics show that New Hampshire has one of the lowest non-insured rates in the US (ranked 34th with 9.3% Uninsured Motorists according to 2012 statistics). For those that do purchase insurance, the requirements include having liability, medical payment, and uninsured motorist coverage.
For those that choose not to purchase car insurance, you are obligated to pay for the cost of the property damage and medical expenses due to the injuries that you have caused. Most people do not have the money available to cover such cost which is why so many New Hampshire drivers purchase car insurance policies.
Non-Insurance Financial Requirement
If you do not carry insurance, you are required to pay for property damage and medical expenses you caused in the accident. If you cannot pay, your driver’s license will be suspended until you have met the costs. Those who have the proper car insurance will not face any threat of suspension because it is incumbent on the insurance company to pay the expenses.
So, it is not surprising that most New Hampshire drivers have auto insurance at the state minimum required levels that include the following;
- Bodily Injury One Person: $25,000
- Body Injury Multiple People: $50,000
- Property Damage: $25,000
Depending on the severity of the accident, you may have to pay out of pocket if the expenses exceed the amount of coverage. So, you may want to pay more for liability to ensure proper coverage for the worst accidents. Click here to compare auto insurance rate online.
The New Hampshire auto insurance law does require certain individuals who have been involved in serious traffic violations and accidents to purchase insurance to operate their vehicles. For those who are required to purchase auto insurance because of those circumstances, they will need to file an SR-22 form that guarantees you have insurance for the next three years.
Non-compliance may mean suspension or even the revoking of your driver’s license and suspension of the privileges that comes with your registration.
What You Need to Know
Do you have to have car insurance in New Hampshire? The answer is no.
However, you must be able to pay for the damages if you are considered at-fault in an accident which includes property and bodily injury. Otherwise, you face suspension of your driver’s license which can severely curtail your efforts to get to work, buy groceries, or travel to other locations.
It is recommended that you purchase the state minimum requirement of auto insurance unless you have on-hand the money necessary to pay off damages and injuries that are caused in a typical accident.